Laymanointing

…. they were unschooled, ordinary men …. they had been with Jesus …. the crippled man healed standing with them – Acts 4:13,14

A father’s prayer, a mother’s intecession, .. a little child’s petition

This week, received a message from a dear brother who sent a Chinese worship song which his mother loved very much, … in warm fond memory of her  (she went to be with Jesus a year ago)
A woman of prayer, she’ll faithfully got up very early each morning to pray, read God’s Word, and spent time with the Lord. My  friend’s parents’ faith & walk have influenced and shaped his walk with the Lord, and how he conducts his affairs and his family life.

Sometime back, was having a meal with another dear brother who’s involved in a few ministries, and running a business.
I enquired what keeps him going.
His answer was the faith and faithfulness he saw in his parents, when he was growing up.
His parents generosity with their time and resources to serve and bless others in Jesus name
— their faithful example inspired him.

Praise God for godly and faithful parents, … who leave a Godly legacy of faithfulness & love.

A previous post: Leaving an inheritance for our children (click here) 


A daddy’s prayer

He’s got a father in God ’cause he’s seen Jesus in me
And the Jesus he finds will be the Jesus in me

Lord, I want to be just like You
‘Cause he wants to be just like me
I want to be a holy example
For his innocent eyes to see
Help me be a living Bible, Lord
That my little boy can read
I want to be just like You
‘Cause he wants to be like me
— Dan Dean, Joy Becker

Deuteronomy 11:13, 18-21 (NKJV)
13 ‘And it shall be that if you earnestly obey
My commandments which I command you today,

to love the Lord your God and serve Him with all your heart and with all your soul

18 “Therefore you shall lay up these words of mine
in your heart and in your soul,
and bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. 

19 You shall teach them to your children,
speaking of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way,
when you lie down, and when you rise up.
20 And you shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates,
21 that your days and the days of your children may be multiplied in the land of which the Lord swore to your fathers to give them, like the days of the heavens above the earth.

Proverbs 1:8,9 (NLT)
My child, listen when your father corrects you.

    Don’t neglect your mother’s instruction.

What you learn from them

will crown you with grace
    and be a chain of honor around your neck.


A mummy’s intercession

Mama, knew that Jesus was waiting
when she knelt by her rocking chair
Oh, I’m glad that Mama was willing 
to burn the midnight oil in prayer
— Shawn Craig, Joy Becker

Paul wrote about the faith of Timothy’s mother and grandmother that overflowed into Timothy’s life,

2 Timothy 1:5 (NKJV),   3:15 (NLT),   1:5 (MSG)
1:5 when I call to remembrance the genuine faith that is in you,
which dwelt first in your grandmother Lois
and your mother Eunice,
and I am persuaded is in you also.

3:15 You have been taught the holy Scriptures
from childhood,

and they have given you the wisdom
to receive the salvation that comes by trusting in Christ Jesus.

1:5 MSG… your honest faith—and what a rich faith it is,
handed down from your grandmother Lois to your mother Eunice,
and now to you! 

Charles Spurgeon:
“Never could it be possible for any man to estimate what he owes to a godly mother.

Certainly I have not the powers of speech with which to set forth my valuation of the choice blessing which the Lord bestowed on me in making me
the son of one who prayed for me,
and prayed with me.

How can I ever forget her tearful eye when she warned me to escape the wrath to come?
I thought her lips right eloquent. Others might not think so, but they certainly were eloquent to me.

How can I ever forget when she bowed her knee, and with her arms about my neck, prayed,
‘Oh, that my son might live before Thee!’

Nor can her frown be effaced from my memory,– that solemn, loving frown,
when she rebuked my budding iniquities.

And her smiles have never faded from my recollection,
– the beaming of her countenance when she rejoiced to see some good thing in me
towards the Lord God of Israel.”
–- Source:  Charles H. Spurgeon, The Autobiography of Charles H. Spurgeon, Vol. 1, 1834-1854 (New York: Fleming Revell Co., 1898), 68-69.

 

“…although Suzanna Wesley never preached a sermon
or published a book or founded a church,
she is known as the mother of  the Methodist Church.

Why?
Because two of her sons, John Wesley and Charles Wesley,
as children consciously or unconsciously will,

applied the example and teachings and circumstances
of their home life.”

— Source: Wikipedia 


Psalm 78:3-7 (NKJV)
Which we have heard and known,
And our fathers have told us.
We will not hide them from their children,
Telling to the generation to come the praises of the Lord,
And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

For He established a testimony in Jacob,
And appointed a law in Israel,
Which He commanded our fathers,
That they should make them known to their children;

That the generation to come might know them,
The children who would be born,
That they may arise and declare them to their children,

That they may set their hope in God,
And not forget the works of God,
But keep His commandments;


Hudson Taylor, missionary to China (1800s)

The beginning of it all was a quiet hour among his father’s books, when young Hudson Taylor sought something to interest him. His mother was away from home and the boy was missing her. The house seemed empty, so he took the story he found to a favorite corner in the old warehouse, thinking he would read it as long as it did not get prosy.

Many miles away, the mother was specially burdened that Saturday afternoon about her only son. Leaving her friends she went alone to plead with God for his salvation. Hour after hour passed while that mother was still upon her knees, until her heart was flooded with a joyful assurance that her prayers were heard and answered.

The boy was reading, meanwhile, the booklet he had picked up, and as the story merged into something more serious he was arrested by the words:
“The finished work of Christ.”
Who can explain the mystery of the Holy Spirit’s working?  Truth long familiar, though neglected, came back to mind and heart.

“Why does the writer use those words?” he questioned. “Why does he not say, ‘the atoning or propitiatory work of Christ’?”

Immediately, “It is finished” shone out as in letters of light.
Finished? What was finished?

“A full and perfect atonement for sin,” his heart replied.
“The debt was paid by the great Substitute.
‘Christ died for our sins,’ and ‘not for ours only, but also for the sins of the whole world.’”

Then came the thought with startling clearness,
“If the whole work is finished, the whole debt paid, what is there left for me to do?”

The one, the only answer took possession of his soul:
“There was nothing in the world for me to do save to fall upon my knees
and accepting this Savior and His salvation to praise Him for ever more.”

Old doubts and fears were gone. The reality of the wonderful experience we call conversion filled him with peace and joy. New life came with that simple acceptance of the Lord Jesus Christ, for to “as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God.”
And great was the change that new life brought.

Longing to share his newfound joy with his mother, he was the first to welcome her on her return.

“I know, my boy, I know,” she said with her arms about him.
“I have been rejoicing for a fortnight in the glad news you have to tell.”

Another surprise awaited him not long after, when, picking up a notebook he thought was his own, he found an entry in his sister’s writing to the effect that she would give herself daily to prayer until God should answer in the conversion of her only brother.  The young girl had recorded this decision just a month previously.

Brought up in such a circle (Hudson Taylor wrote) and saved under such circumstances, it was perhaps natural that from the very commencement of my Christian life I was led to feel that the promises of the Bible are very real, and that prayer is in sober fact transacting business with God, whether on one’s own behalf or on behalf of those for whom one seeks His blessing”
Source:  H. Taylor, G. Taylor, Hudson Taylor Spiritual Secret, Moody Press, 1932,  pg 34, 35

James Hudson Taylor (Chinese: 戴德生; 21 May 1832 – 3 June 1905) went on to be Christian missionary to China and founder of the China Inland Mission (CIM, now OMF International). Taylor spent 51 years in China. The society that he began was responsible for bringing over 800 Western missionaries to China who began 125 schools and directly resulted in 18,000 Christian conversions, as well as the establishment of more than 300 stations of work with more than 500 local helpers in all eighteen provinces of China.
Source:  Wikipedia


My mother’s faith, … this was the greatest gift she gave,
… and now I know my mother’s faith
— Cynthia Clawson

‘My Mother’s Faith,’ is a song close to Clawson’s heart because it’s tribute to her mother, who was diagnosed with Creutzfeldt-Jakob, known as Mad Cow Disease.
‘Now, I spend as much time as I can helping my father help her eat, dress and just do the most basic things to care for her,’ Clawson wrote in her testimonial.
‘She is still alive, yet she is gone … so she will not hear this song I recorded to comfort her.
Now when I sing ‘My Mother’s Faith’, I sing it for myself, for her and for all of those
grateful to God that they had a mother’s faith impact their lives.’
Source:  Baylor Lariat Archives


A child’s petition

So he whispers his prayer every evening
As he kneels by his bedside alone
“Put mommy and daddy back together again
And give us a happy home
Please give us a happy home”
— Michael White, Wayland Patton


Fond memories of dad’s friendship

You can let go now, daddy

I learnt more by how you live,
then what I heard you say
there’s nothing to prove, nothing to lose, nothing to hide
— Dan Dean

“Nothing to Prove”, was written by Dan Dean in response to the death of a close friend’s father.
“I’ll never forget the morning he called and said, ‘My dad is gone,'” Dean recalled.
“It was brilliant and sad, and I went into the chapel with a heavy heart
asking God what I could do, and out came this song with words
that I hope can be said about me someday.”
— Source:  Wikipedia


Careful the things you say
Children will listen

Careful the things you do
Children will see and learn

Children may not obey, … but children will listen
Children will look to you … for which way to turn
— Stephen Sondheim

What are we sowing in our children ?
What are we desiring in our children ?

Leaving an inheritance for our children (click here)


Things I must tell the children

We’ll be there


Inspiring lives |Family

by 林弟兄, bro Lim
June 5, 2017
laymanointing.wordpress.com

Copyright © 林弟兄 bro Lim, Laymanointing, 2014-2017 – All Rights Reserved,
Creative Commons License


 

Blog Stats

  • 13,470 views from 111 countries

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

