Laymanointing

…. they were unschooled, ordinary men …. they had been with Jesus …. the crippled man healed standing with them – Acts 4:13,14

Preaching the cross … treasuring Christ’s cost

Lately, at church we’ve been worshipping the Lord with a beautiful Korean song, inspired by Paul’s words & example to Timothy

1 Timothy 1 :12-17 (NLT)
12 I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength to do his work.
He considered me trustworthy and appointed me to serve him,

13 even though I used to blaspheme the name of Christ.
In my insolence, I persecuted his people.
But God had mercy on me because I did it in ignorance and unbelief.

14 Oh, how generous and gracious our Lord was!
He filled me with the faith and love that come from Christ Jesus.

15 This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it:
“Christ Jesus came into the world
to save sinners
— and I am the worst of them all.

16 But God had mercy on me
so that Christ Jesus could use me
as a prime example of his great patience
with even the worst sinners
.

Then others will realize that
they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life.

17 All honor and glory to God forever and ever!
He is the eternal King, the unseen one who never dies; he alone is
God. Amen.

and
2 Timothy 1:7-9 (NLT)
For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity,
but of power, love, and self-discipline.
8 So never be ashamed to tell others about our Lord.
And don’t be ashamed of me, either, even though I’m in prison for him.

With the strength God gives you,
be ready to suffer with me for the sake of the Good News.

For God saved us and called us to live a holy life.
He did this, not because we deserved it,
but because that was his plan from before the beginning of time
to show us his grace through Christ Jesus.


Preaching the Cross (십자가의 전달자 번역)

I’m the lowest of the low
wretched sinner I am
So unworthy, but You called me
With my faith and hope in You
I will not be ashamed
You have called me to, preach the cross

Where You send me I will go
If it’s for You, my Lord
For I will always, proclaim the cross
Till the fragrance of your blood
covers all of the Earth,
I will preach,
I will bear the cross

If I live, I live for you
If I die, I die for you
I belong to you
In life or death
By the power of the cross
By the hope of the cross
Jesus Christ alone, Will live in me

My love for you, is the cross


Paul wrote:

Preach the word of God …

… Don’t be afraid of suffering for the Lord.
Work at telling others the Good News, …

I have fought the good fight,
I have finished the race,
and I have remained faithful.

17 But the Lord stood with me and gave me strength
so that I might preach the Good News in its entirety for all the Gentiles to hear. And he rescued me from certain death.

18 Yes, and the Lord will deliver me from every evil attack
and will bring me safely into his heavenly Kingdom.
All glory to God forever and ever!
Amen.
2 Timothy 4:2, 5, 7, 17,18 (NLT)


Here’s the Korean song 십자가의 전달자 번역

If we live, we live for the Lord;
and if we die, we die for the Lord.
So, whether we live or die,
we belong to the Lord.
Romans 14:8 (NIV)

Here’s an English translation

precross


1:17 For Christ did not send me to baptize,
but to preach the gospel
—not with wisdom and eloquence,
lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

18 For the message of the cross is foolishness
to those who are perishing,
but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.

23 but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, 24 but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks,
Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.

2:1 And so it was with me, brothers and sisters. When I came to you,
I did not come with eloquence or human wisdom
as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God.

For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you
except Jesus Christ and him crucified.

I came to you in weakness with great fear and trembling.
My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words,
but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power,

so that your faith might not rest on human wisdom, but on God’s power.
1 Corinthians 1:17-18, 23,24;  2:1-5 (NIV)

The depth of the Word of God inspires heartfelt humility and commitment to follow Him in love, … whatever the cost,
… overwhelmed by the price He paid for us,
& the depth of His love for us.

14 For the love of Christ controls and compels us,
because we have concluded this,
that One died for all, therefore all died;
15 and He died for all,
so that
all those who live would no longer live for themselves,
but for Him who died and was raised for their sake.
2 Corinthians 5:14, 15 (AMP)


Missions | Sharing Jesus

by 林弟兄, bro Lim
August 10, 2016
laymanointing.wordpress.com

Copyright © 林弟兄 bro Lim, Laymanointing, 2014-2016 – All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License


 

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2016 by in Media, Ministry, Music, Serving Quietly, Sharing Jesus and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 12,138 views from 108 countries
Albania Argentina Armenia Australia Austria Bangladesh Barbados Bahamas Bahrain Belgium Belize Bolivia Bosnia & Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Bulgaria Cambodia Cameroon Canada Chile China Croatia Curacao Cyprus Czech Denmark Estonia Egypt Ethiopia European Union Fiji Finland France Georgia Germany Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hong Kong SAR Hungary India Indonesia Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jordan Kenya Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia Malawi Malta Mauritius Mexico Montenegro Mozambique Myanmar (Burma) Namibia Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Nigeria Norway Papua New Guinea Pakistan Oman Peru Philippines Poland Puerto Rico Qatar Romania Russia Rwanda Saudi Arabia Serbia Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa South Korea Spain Sri Lanka St Vincent & Grenadines Sweden Swaziland Switzerland Taiwan Tanzania Thailand Trinidad & Tobago Turkey Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uzbekistan Venezuela Vietnam Zambia Zimbabwe

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

