Laymanointing

…. they were unschooled, ordinary men …. they had been with Jesus …. the crippled man healed standing with them – Acts 4:13,14

Why David prayed,”Take not your Holy Spirit from me”? How was he restored? What are the pitfalls?

“Take not your Holy Spirit from me”

This prayer is found in David’s prayer of repentance in Psalm 51,
after David was confronted by Nathan the prophet about what he had done.

— David coveted Uriah’s wife, Bathsheba.  He committed adultery with her.  He hediously premeditated the death/murder of his loyal soldier, Uriah the Hittite.  After this, he took Bathsheba as his wife.  David deceptively covered up everything.   (2 Samuel 11).  David broke at least 3 commandments.

In today’s instant media frontpage, …  sex/intrigue/murder scandal, …. popular head of state being impeached, … faces long prison sentence, … did he or didn’t he?  Did she or didn’t she?, but why?, etc,etc …. cover-up? …  social media, tabloids abuzz … racy scoops,  analysis, opinions, etc.  Serious stuff.

“The heart is more deceitful than all else
And is desperately sick;
Who can understand it?

10 “I, the Lord, search the heart,
I test the mind,
Even to give to each man according to his ways,
According to the results of his deeds.
Jeremiah 17:9,10 (NASB)

As the supreme authority of the nation, … David used his executive powers to achieve his personal goals;  sacrificing others in the process.

Whatever’s legal, … just do it?
Whatever’s within our rights,  or authority, … just do it?
(pitfall 1)

Here’s how it all began,

2 Samuel 11:1-4 (NIV)
In the spring, at the time when kings go off to war, David sent Joab out with the king’s men and the whole Israelite army. They destroyed the Ammonites and besieged Rabbah. But David remained in Jerusalem.  One evening David got up from his bed and walked around on the roof of the palace. From the roof he saw a woman bathing. The woman was very beautiful.

and David sent someone to find out about her. The man said, “She is Bathsheba, the daughter of Eliam and the wife of Uriah the Hittite.” Then David sent messengers to get her.
She came to him, and he slept with her.

Eye off the ball, … distracted
(pitfall 2)
unexpected, sudden car crashes … distracted driver

Nathan reminded David, … & ‘put him in his rightful place
“Thus says the Lord God of Israel,
It is I who anointed you king over Israel and it is I who delivered you from the hand of Saul.  …  Why have you despised the word of the Lord by doing evil in His sight?
2 Samuel 12:8,9 (NASB)

In God’s eyes,
David had despised the word of the Lord by doing evil

Thankfully, David listened to God’s word through Nathan’s life-giving correction.
He repented.

In his prayer, David prayed,

Psalm 51:11 (NASB, NLT)
Do not cast me away from Your presence
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

Do not banish me from your presence,
and don’t take your Holy Spirit from me

David had no desire to be absent from God’s presence,
with absence of the Holy Spirit in his life.prayer3

David desperately desired the Lord’s presence and favor,
the Holy Spirit to be ever-present in his life.

To grasp the full gravity of this prayer,
let’s read what happened to his 2 predecessors
— Samson, the last judge in the book of Judges,
& Saul the first king in the book of 1 Samuel.

Samson:
Strongman leader sex scandal with seductive espionage agent of foreign power, … neutralized, captured, … massive security leak.
Unlike suave 007, … sleeping with the enemy was Samson’s undoing.
Samson, Strong in hot fights. … Weak with hot women.

Judges 16:20 (NASB)
Delilah said, “The Philistines are upon you, Samson!”
And he awoke from his sleep and said,
“I will go out as at other times and shake myself free.”

But he did not know
that the Lord had departed from him

One of the saddest verses in the Bible,
Samson did not know or noticed .. or was aware
that the Lord had left him !!

Judges 16:19 (NLT)
Delilah lulled Samson to sleep with his head in her lap,
and then she called in a man to shave off the seven locks of his hair.

In this way she began to bring him down,
and Samson’s strength left him.

Physically, .. and spiritually asleep
in the lap of the enemy.

Finding rest in the .. wrong place.

the Lord had left him … his strength left him

Over-confidence … presumption, assumption
or Godly faith?
(pitfall 3)

How near, … how close can one get to temptation,
… without sinning?

How near can one swim with sharks?
(pitfall 4)

Keep away from everything that even looks like sin.
1 Thessalonians 5:22 (NLV)

Saul:
1 Samuel 16:14 (NASB)
14 Now the Spirit of the Lord
departed from Saul
, …

after Saul chose to do things his way, rather than God’s way
(1 Samuel 13 & 15).

Whatever feels right, … just do it?

Whatever’s the best pragmatic option, … just do it?
(pitfall 5)

1 Samuel 15:26 (NASB)
But Samuel said to Saul, “I will not return with you;
for you have rejected the word of the Lord,
and the Lord has rejected you from being king over Israel.”

Saul rejected the word of the Lord,
then,
the Spirit of the Lord departed from Saul

Rejecting  God’s word, .. not honoring God’s word.
(pitfall 6)

David was asked,
Why have you despised the word of the Lord
by doing evil, …

Whatever ministry we’re involved in,
God’s word has to inspire, sustain, and direct it.

Honor God’s word,
speak God’s word, … walk according to God’s word,
the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God  Ephesians 6:17

Psalm 119:9 (ESV)
How can a young man keep his way pure?
By guarding it according to your word.
By living according to your word.  (NIV)

David did not want to suffer the sad fate of Samson and Saul, his predecessors.

14 But each one is tempted when he is dragged away,
enticed and baited [to commit sin] by his own [worldly] desire (lust, passion).
15 Then when the illicit desire has conceived,
it gives birth to sin;and when sin has run its course, it gives birth to death.
James 1:14,15 (AMP)

Though he too had sin,
he desired to walk into his destiny
he desired to walk right,
in the light and truth of God.
Nothing to hide.

1 John 1:5-7(NASB)
5 … God is Light,
and in Him there is no darkness at all.

If we say that we have fellowship with Him
and yet walk in the darkness,

we lie
and do not practice the truth;

second chance? … is it possible?

7  but if
we walk in the Light

as He Himself is in the Light
 we have fellowship with one another,

How?

and the blood of Jesus His Son
cleanses us from all sin.

If we say that we have no sin,
we are deceiving ourselves
and the truth is not in us.
 

If we confess our sins,
He is faithful and righteous
to forgive us our sins
and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
 

Amen, thank you Jesus.


Saul rejected the word of the Lord,
the Spirit of the Lord departed from Saul

David had despised the word of the Lord by doing evil

Jesus said

John 14:15,16 (NIV)
15 If   you love me, keep my commands.
16 And   I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate
to help you and be with you forever
17 the Spirit of truth. …

If … And …
God’s promise of the Holy Spirit presence
the Spirit of truth
is conditional on us loving him,
and keeping his commands, keeping his Word, His truth,
and abiding in Jesus,
the way, and the truth, and the life  (John 14:6)

Therefore, David prayed in his repentance,

Psalm 51:11 (NASB)
Do not cast me away from Your presence
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me

Jesus said,

I am the vine, you are the branches;
he who abides in Me and I in him,
he bears much fruit,

for apart from Me
you can do nothing.
 

If you abide in Me,
and My words abide in you,

ask whatever you wish,
and it will be done for you.
 

John 15:5, 7 (NASB)


On a side note, each of the 3 leaders, and even David, a man after God’s own heart (Acts 13:22), had human weakness and lapses.
The Bible did not photoshop or edit away these flaws and blemishes of these leaders … raw, .. unscripted, .. real, ..

Truly it is God’s mercy and grace that he uses each one of us for his glory.

Paul wrote:
1:27But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise;
God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong
.
1 Corinthians 1:27 (NIV)

11:29 Who is weak, and I do not feel weak?
Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn?

12:9 But he said to me,
“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”
Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses,
so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

2 Corinthians 11:29, 12:9 (NIV)

Hence, all the more we need His abiding presence and the Holy Spirit in our lives, to empower us to live for Him;
For when I am weak, then I am strong (2 Corinthians 12:10 NIV)

As can be seen through David and Samson,
leading others … begins by ruling over one’s spirit first.

A person without self-control is like a city with broken-down walls.
Proverbs 25:38 (NLT)

Better a patient person than a warrior,
one with self-control than one who takes a city.
Proverbs 16:32 (NIV)

22 But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness,
and self-control. …
Galatians 5:22,23 (NLT)

On a further note, the gifts of God are well distributed amongst God’s people
— the 3 leaders came from the families of Dan, Benjamin and Judah,
and Samuel was from the family of Levi from the region of Ephraim.

All are equipped with great gifts and callings,
however,
how we walk with the Lord,  … how we live,
determines where we go;
the extent we walk into the fullness of His purposes.

God’s Word, Christ-like character
sustains & maintains one on the long narrow path.

Fruit of the Spirit  character
supports Gifts of the Spirit  anointing.

Loving the Lord & living His Word, His truth.
Daily prayer with the Lord.
God’s Word, a lamp upon our feet.
Yielding to  the moulding of Christ-like character by the Master Potter.
Abiding in His presence.


David valued God’s precious abiding presence and guidance above all, he wrote/sang:

One thing
I have asked of the Lord,
and that I will seek:

That I may dwell in the house of the Lord [in His presence]
all the days of my life,
To gaze upon the beauty [the delightful loveliness and majestic grandeur] of the Lord And to meditate in His temple.
Psalm 27:4 (AMP)

Moses as well.

14 The Lord replied,
My Presence will go with you,
and I will give you rest.”

15 Then Moses said to him,
If your Presence does not go with us,
do not send us up from here.
Exodus 33:15 (NIV)

Jesus said, 

The Spirit is the One who gives life.
The flesh doesn’t help at all.
The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life.
John 6:63 (HCSB)

David knew that without the presence of the Holy Spirit,
wherever he goes,
whatever he does,
is void of the presence of God
and the blessing  and life of God.

for apart from Me
you can do nothing.


On a side note, in Ezekiel 10, Ezekiel describes the glory of the Lord departing from the temple due to the iniquities of the people.

In Revelation, to the church in Ephesus, Jesus warned

But I have this against you,
that you have left your first love.

Therefore remember from where you have fallen,
 and repent
and do the deeds you did at first;

or else I am coming to you
and will remove your lampstand out of its place
unless you repent.
Revelation 2:5 (NASB)



In  Psalm 51 (NASB), David humbly sought God’s mercy in his repentance prayer.

51:1Be gracious to me, O God, according to Your lovingkindness;
According to the greatness of Your compassion

51:14 Deliver me from bloodguiltiness,
O God, the God of my salvation
Then my tongue will joyfully sing of Your righteousness.

David acknowledged the Lord in his life,
His grace, lovingkindness, and great compassion.
On the basis of God’s character, David presented his petition.

Only God is righteous in all His ways.
Only God is his salvation,
only He can save and rescue him.

blot out my transgressions.
51:2 Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity

And cleanse me from my sin.

51:7 Purify me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
Wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

51:9 Hide Your face from my sins
And blot out all my iniquities.

David acknowledged only God can forgive his sin.
He asked God to wash, cleanse and purify him thoroughly of his sin;
completely blot  out his sin from the record.
I shall be clean … absolutely, totally, 100% clean, clean record
I shall be whiter than snow

51:3 For I know my transgressions,
And my sin is ever before me.
51:4 Against You, You only, I have sinned
And done what is evil in Your sight,

David acknowledged his own sin  against the Lord,
he took full responsibility,
pointing the finger squarely at only himself
No excuses, no “ifs or buts“.

2 Samuel 12:7, 13 (NASB)
Nathan then said to David, “You are the man!  …
13 
Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”

David gave a prompt response to prophet Nathan.
Contrast this to Saul’s response to prophet Samuel in 1 Samuel 15,
Saul gave excuses, justifications, .. until Samuel pressed the matter further.

Also, Adam’s reply to the Lord in the garden of Eden,
“The woman whom You gave to be with me,  she gave me from the tree, and I ate” (Genesis 3:12)

51:4… So that You are justified when You speak
And blameless when You judge.

David acknowledged the Lord is the just and fair Judge of everything he does.
Nothing is concealed from the Lord, He knows everything — actions, thoughts, intentions.
David can’t hide the truth from God.
God has every legal right to judge him;
guilty as charged.

51:6 Behold, You desire truth in the innermost being,
And in the hidden part You will make me know wisdom.

Behold, thou lovest truth in the inward affections:
therefore hast thou taught me wisdom in the secret of mine heart. (GNV)

Surely You desire integrity in the inner self,
and You teach me wisdom deep within. (HCSB)

David acknowledged the Lord’s expectation of his life
— his thoughts, intentions, actions —
truth, integrity, wisdom in his heart, … truthful, wise actions.

51:1Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.

51:11 Do not cast me away from Your presence
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from e.

51:12 Restore to me the joy of Your salvation
And sustain me with a willing spirit.

David acknowledged only the Lord can restore him, revive him, change his heart.
He asked the Lord to
create a clean heart
and a steadfast spirit in him to follow God’s ways,
for the Lord to restore His joy once again in his life,
and sustain him with a willing spirit to obey the Lord and His ways.

David humbly asked the Lord for mercy and grace
— restoration of his relationship with the Lord.
With God’s help, he desired to change his ways,
… a new heart, a new spirit.

51:16 For You do not delight in sacrifice, otherwise I would give it;
You are not pleased with burnt offering.
51:17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
A broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.

David acknowledged the Lord in his life.
He surrendered himself,
his broken and contrite heart,
to the Lord once again.
Repentant,  determined to walk the right way.

51:19 Then You will delight in righteous sacrifices,
In burnt offering and whole burnt offering;
Then young bulls will be offered on Your altar.

51:14 … Then my tongue will joyfully sing of Your righteousness.
51;15 O Lord, open my lips,
That my mouth may declare Your praise.

51:13 Then I will teach transgressors Your ways,
And sinners will be converted to You.

David acknowledged that only with a heart right with God,
a clean heart with integrity and truth,

then and only then,
can he begin to joyfully worship and minister to the Lord,
offer sacrifices,
and minister and teach others about the Lord and His ways.

Right worship, right ministry
begins with a right heart, a heart right with God,
a broken spirit;
A broken and a contrite heart


Just as I am, thou wilt receive,
wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve;
because thy promise I believe,
O Lamb of God, I come, I come.
— Charlotte Elliott

David came to the Lord
‘just as i am’
, empty-handed
only his sin, and his broken and contrite heart.
David humbly asked the Lord to do
what he himself could not do:

be gracious to me,
wash me, cleanse me,
blot out, purify me,

create in me a clean heart
renew a steadfast spirit within me.
restore to me the joy of Your salvation
sustain me with a willing spirit
deliver me from bloodguiltiness
by Your favor do good to Zion

Forgiveness, restoration.
Unearned, undeserved grace & mercy.
not obtained by any human works or deeds.

My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!
— Horatio G. Spafford


As David swiftly repented before the Lord, the Lord heard his humble and contrite prayer

2 Samuel 12:13, 14 (NASB)
13 Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”

And Nathan said to David,
“The Lord also has taken away your sin; you shall not die.

14 However, because by this deed you have given occasion to the enemies of the Lord to blaspheme, the child also that is born to you shall surely die.”

32:5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you
    and did not cover up my iniquity.
I said, “I will confess
    my transgressions to the Lord.”
And you forgave
    the guilt of my sin.
Psalm 32:5 (NIV)

The verdict:

The Lord forgave David.

1 John 1:9 (NASB)
If we confess our sins,
He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins
and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

The Lord said,
I have swept away your offenses like a cloud,
    your sins like the morning mist.

Return to me,
    for I have redeemed you.
Isaiah 44:22 (NIV)

In one of David’s psalms, he praised:
Psalm 32: 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 10 (NIV)
Blessed is the one
    whose transgressions are forgiven,
    whose sins are covered.
Blessed is the one
    whose sin the Lord does not count against them
    and in whose spirit is no deceit.

Then I acknowledged my sin to you
    and did not cover up my iniquity.
I said, “I will confess
    my transgressions to the Lord.”
And you forgave
    the guilt of my sin.

And as a result of restoring our relationship with the Lord,
You are my hiding place;
    you will protect me from trouble
    and surround me with songs of deliverance.

God’s personal guidance, counsel, unfailing love and presence is restored,
I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
    I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.

10 Many are the woes of the wicked,
    but the Lord’s unfailing love
    surrounds the one who trusts in him.

However, David had to live with the consequences of his sin and indiscretion,
and its impact on others.
(see also 2 Samuel 12:10-12,  2 Samuel 16:21,22, 2 Samuel 13, 15)

The Lord once again went with David into victorious battles (2 Samuel 12:29-31).

Psalm 130:3,4 (NIV)
If you, Lord, kept a record of sins,
    Lord, who could stand?

But with you there is forgiveness,

    so that we can, with reverence, serve you.

Psalm 103:10-12 (NIV)
10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
    or repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
    so great is his love for those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
    so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

The past cannot be changed, …. only forgiven.
God is merciful as we walk with Him into the future.

16 Come and hear, all you who fear God;
    let me tell you what he has done for me.
17 I cried out to him with my mouth;
    his praise was on my tongue.

18 If I had cherished sin in my heart,
    the Lord would not have listened;

19 but God has surely listened
    and has heard my prayer.
20 Praise be to God,
    who has not rejected my prayer
    or withheld his love from me!
Psalm 66:16-20 (NIV)


On a side note, although David was anointed as king, prophet & priest (1 Samuel 16:1, Acts 2:29,30,  2 Samuel 6:17,18),

God also anointed others in the kingdom,
like Nathan the prophet,
… mutual accountability … & good governance.

David humbly listened to Nathan’s rebuke, and repented.

Ephesians 5:21 (NIV, TLB)
Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.
Honor Christ by submitting to each other.

Perhaps, ….
after David started slipping down the slippery road of temptation & sin,
… covetousness, adultery, murder, deceit …
one sin leading to another,
… his prayer life deteriorated,
… and he was no longer in close communion with the Lord.

In spite of this, he was still able keep up with appearances,
faithfully going through the rituals of life,
everything seemed OK.

Unable or unwilling .. to hear from God directly,

in his mercy and lovingkindness,
the Lord sent others like Nathan to warn and correct.

Psalm 141:5 (ESV, HCSB)
Let a righteous man strike me—it is a kindness;
let him rebuke me—it is oil for my head;
let my head not refuse it. …

Let the righteous one strike me
— it is an act of faithful love;
let him rebuke me— it is oil for my head;
let me not refuse it

We all have our own blind spots, hidden blemishes,
behaviors that only others know,
things in our closet we’re not proud of,
etc, etc

Lord, may we be humble and open to listen to others.

Proverbs 12:15,  15:31,32 (NIV)
The way of fools seems right to them,
but the wise listen to advice.

15:31 Whoever heeds life-giving correction
    will be at home among the wise.
32 Those who disregard discipline despise themselves,

    but the one who heeds correction gains understanding.

Lord, may we be humble and open to heed life-giving correction.

It’s me, it’s me, O Lord,
standing in the need of prayer.

On a further note, we all need wise Nathans in our lives,
one who walks close to the Lord.
A friend close enough to us,
bold and loving enough to graciously, patiently tell us the truth,
and sometimes the truth that we do not want to hear.
A friend who’s not afraid to confront us in love
with the difficult questions for our good.
Or
it could just be an innocent little boy who pointed out the naked truth about the emperor’s new clothes.

David had Nathan (& others), he listened,

Accountability, … mutual accountability.

… Saul had Samuel,
however, he didn’t take Samuel’s words seriously enough.

(pitfall 7)

Samson was ‘flying solo’.
(pitfall 8)

Are we submitted to a group of mature believers who can speak into our lives?
(pitfall 9)

Ecclesiastes 4:9,10 (NIV)
9 Two are better than one,
    because they have a good return for their labor:
10 If either of them falls down,
    one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls
    and has no one to help them up.

After this the Lord appointed seventy-two others and sent them
two by two
ahead of him to every town … 

Luke 10:1 (NIV)

While they were ministering to the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Set apart for Me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them.”
Acts 13:2 (NIV)

“If you want to go fast, go alone.
If you want to go far, go together.”
—African Proverb


In conclusion, the Lord’s grace and mercy which David received,
is available to us today,
whenever we turn our hearts to the Lord, and return to His ways.

1 John 1:5-9 (NASB)
This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you,
that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.

If we say that we have fellowship with Him
and yet walk in the darkness,
we lie and do not practice the truth;

but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light,
we have fellowship with one another,
and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.

If we say that we have no sin,
we are deceiving ourselves
and the truth is not in us.

If we confess our sins,
He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins
and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

10 If we say that we have not sinned,
we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.

And what about Samson and Saul?

Unfortunately, Saul did not restore his relationship with the Lord, … like David did.
Saul was afflicted by an evil spirit.
Tragically, he ended up seeking the counsel of a spiritist medium (witch) on the night before he died in battle (1 Samuel 28).  Jonathan, his son also died with him in battle.
(for a New Testament example — Acts 5:1-11 (click here))

Jesus said,
“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinegrower.
He removes every branch in me that bears no fruit.

Every branch that bears fruit he prunes
to make it bear more fruit.
You have already been cleansed by the word that I have spoken to you

Whoever does not abide in me is thrown away like a branch and withers; such branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned.
John 15:1,2, 3, 6 (NRSV)

John the Baptist said,
Bring forth fruit that is consistent with repentance [let your lives prove your change of heart];
Matthew 3:8 (AMPC)

Thankfully, Samson story did not end in the lap
of sensuous, seductive,  deceptive Delilah.

Though blinded and a captive slave prisoner of the enemy,
Samson restored his relationship with the Lord,
and ended his life with a prayer of faith to the Lord,
and a resounding victory.

Samson called to the Lord
“O Lord God, please remember me
and please strengthen me …”

His faith restored, … his strength restored,
his purpose realised.
The Holy Spirit came upon Samson once again in mighty power.

Judges 16:26-30 (NASB)
26 Then Samson said to the boy who was holding his hand, “Let me feel the pillars on which the house rests, that I may lean against them.” 27 Now the house was full of men and women, and all the lords of the Philistines were there. And about 3,000 men and women were on the roof looking on while Samson was amusing them.

28 Then Samson called to the Lord and said,
O Lord God, please remember me
and please strengthen me just this time,
O God, that I may at once be avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.”

29 Samson grasped the two middle pillars on which the house rested, and braced himself against them, the one with his right hand and the other with his left. 30 And Samson said, “Let me die with the Philistines!” And he bent with all his might so that the house fell on the lords and all the people who were in it. So the dead whom he killed at his death were more than those whom he killed in his life.

Zechariah 4:6 (NASB)
…  ‘Not by might nor by power,   but by My Spirit,’
says the Lord of hosts.

Samson was commended in Hebrews 11 — the people of faith in history.
He made it!

Hebrews 11:32-34 (NASB)
32 And what more shall I say? For time will fail me if I tell of Gideon, Barak ,Samson, Jephthah, of David and Samuel and the prophets, 33 who by faith conquered kingdoms, performed acts of righteousness, obtained promises,shut the mouths of lions, 34 quenched the power of fire, escaped the edge of the sword, from weakness were made strong, became mighty in war, put foreign armies to flight.

So, … no matter how far we’ve strayed away,
or badly we’ve sinned,
like the prodigal son and David,

if we choose to
leave our own ways, … our old ways
… and return
to the father, … and walk in His ways
the father runs to restore his beloved son, … again

Luke 15:20-24 (NLT)
20 “So he returned home to his father. And while he was still a long way off,

his father saw him coming. Filled with love and compassion,
he ran to his son, embraced him, and kissed him.

21 His son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against both heaven and you, and I am no longer worthy of being called your son.’

22 “But his father said to the servants, ‘Quick! Bring the finest robe in the house and put it on him. Get a ring for his finger and sandals for his feet.23 And kill the calf we have been fattening. We must celebrate with a feast,
24 for this son of mine was dead and has now returned to life.
He was lost, but now he is found.’


14 if My people who are called by My name
will humble themselves,
and pray
and seek
My face,

and turn from their wicked ways,
then I will hear from heaven,
and will forgive their sin and heal their land.
2 Chronicles 7:14 (NKJV)

Prayer:

12 Who perceives his unintentional sins?
Cleanse me from my hidden faults.
13 Moreover, keep Your servant from willful sins;
do not let them rule over me.
Then I will be innocent
and cleansed from blatant rebellion.

14 May the words of my mouth
and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable to You,
Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.
Psalm 19:12-14 (HCSB)


PrayerFoundations

by 林弟兄, bro Lim
May 30, 2016
laymanointing.wordpress.com

Copyright © 林弟兄 bro Lim, Laymanointing, 2014-2016 – All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License

 


 

 

Blog Stats

  • 14,394 views from 112 countries
Albania Armenia Argentina Australia Austria Bangladesh Barbados Bahamas Bahrain Belgium Belize Bolivia Bosnia & Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Bulgaria Cambodia Canada Chile China Costa Rica Croatia Curacao Cyprus Czech Denmark Ecuador Egypt Estonia Ethiopia European Union Fiji Finland France Georgia Germany Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hungary India Indonesia Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jordan Kenya Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia Malawi Malta Mauritius Mexico Mongolia Montenegro Mozambique Myanmar (Burma) Namibia Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Nigeria Norway Papua New Guinea Oman Pakistan Peru Philippines Poland Puerto Rico Qatar Romania Russia Rwanda Saudi Arabia Serbia Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa South Korea Spain Sri Lanka St Vincent & Grenadines Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Tanzania Thailand Tonga Trinidad & Tobago Turkey Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uzbekistan Venezuela Vietnam Zambia Zimbabwe

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

