Laymanointing

…. they were unschooled, ordinary men …. they had been with Jesus …. the crippled man healed standing with them – Acts 4:13,14

Dealing with change, transitions, limitations … I won’t complain

Life’s filled with ups and downs.
Unpredictable, unplanned things happen,
unforseeable changes take place,
disappointments occur,
… the unexpected, the unknown knocks at our door.

Change, … some temporary
… others, sometimes .. permanent,

some joyful, .. some challenging

Whatever it may be …
our attitude to life and faith in God
helps us to be prayerfully resilient, persevere
and be joyful,
seeing situations & circumstances in the light
of His word.

Looking beyond the past, “the way it was
or dwelling on “what could have been“.

And with His help, … we move on … to face today

walking with Him,  & trusting Him into our tomorrows,
one day at a time, … one step at a time.

Jeremiah testified:

Your words are what sustain me;

they are food to my hungry soul.
They bring joy to my sorrowing heart
and delight me.

How proud I am to bear your name, O Lord.
Jeremiah 15:16 (TLB) 

With God’s help,
like sturdy bamboo, He helps us to flexibly sway & bend,
… humbly adapt,
and not break in the winds of change.bamboobend

Tall & slender bamboos grow close together in bamboo plots,
each bamboo is sheltered from the wind & weather
by the rest standing close by.

In strong winds, like bamboo, it helps for us to have a flexible, yet sturdy bamboo faith,
in fellowship in a supportive bamboo community :-).bamboo

Romans 12:12 (ISV)
Be joyful because you have hope.
Be patient when trouble comes.
Pray at all times.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (ISV)
16 Always be joyful.
17 Continually be prayerful.
18 In everything be thankful,
because this is God’s will for you in the Messiah Jesus.

Though in ourselves, we’re weak,
but, … rooted in Him,
He strengthens us to go on.

Even in the midst of limitations, difficulties, crisis, etc,

there’s still much to be thankful & grateful to God for.

I won’t complain … God knows what’s best for me 
although my weary eyes can’t see,
so I’ll say thank you, Lord,
I won’t complain

…when I look around,
 I find my good days 
they outweigh my bad days
so … I won’t complain

The Lord’s been good to me
… so I say thank you Lord,
I won’t complain
—  Rev Paul Jones


For everything that was written in the past
was written to teach us,
so that through the endurance taught
in the Scriptures

and the encouragement they provide
we
might have hope.

13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy
and peace as you trust in him,
so that you may overflow with hope
by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Romans 15:4, 13 (NIV)

God’s Word & the Holy Spirit is our source/well of overflowing hope,
filling us with His joy & peace,
encouragement & endurance to perservere.
and helps us maintain a grateful heart.


David shares his life experience in Psalm 23,

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk

    through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,

    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,

    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

David shares about walking by quiet waters,
lying down comfortably in green pastures,

walking through darkest valleys,
in the midst of enemies,

… through life’s smooth, peaceful … and sometimes rough roads.

comfortably, smooth, blissful train journey 🙂  ,
roller coaster ride … full of adventure  :'( or :D

through it all,
it is the Lord,
the ever-present Shepherd who personally led and sustained David
through each & every situation;

ever faithful, faithfully,
your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Along life’s way,
when we’re distracted,
when fast, quick shortcuts are attractive,

or, … when descending down a dark valley,
when we can’t see clearly the way,
when one slip or a wrong turn … may be costly

the gentle nudge of the Shepherd’s rod and staff
reassures us,
guides us along the way,
directing us back,
keeping us on the right & safe path.

By walking closely with God,
David experienced
The Lord is my shepherd,
I lack nothing,

The Lord knows what’s ahead,
what’s behind every unseen corner.

David’s eye is on his Shepherd,
where is He going to lead him next?

I lack nothing,

And my God will liberally supply (fill until full) your every need
according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:19 (AMP)

As the Lord shepherds us, I lack nothing,
…  looking to the Lord Himself as our sustainer & provider,
who creatively helps us solve problems/challenges with His wisdom.

… let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,
fixing our eyes on Jesus,
the author and perfecter of faith …
Hebrews 12:1,2 (NASB)

one step at a time, … one day at a time.
by faith we step out,
trusting the Lord each step along the way

The Lord is my shepherd,
I lack nothing

whether seeing …
the cup’s half full, or half empty,
or
both half full & half empty,

with the Lord, our shepherd,
by His grace,
my cup overflows

for we walk by faith, not by sight
[living our lives in a manner consistent with our confident belief in God’s promises]
2 Corinthians 5:7 (AMP)

Jesus said,

Matthew 6:8,26,32,33 (NASB)
8… for your Father knows what you need before you ask Him

26 Look at the birds of the air, … your heavenly Father feeds them.
Are you not worth much more than they?
Are you not much more valuable than they? (NIV)

32 your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.

33 But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness,
and all these things will be added to you.

Through each experience, trusting the Lord,
David’s confidence  & trust in the Lord grew,
as he tasted the true depths of God’s grace and faithfulness.

Hence, whatever lies ahead, his confidence is not in himself
rather, his strength is in his faithful Lord, His shepherd —
Surely Your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

David’s life covers about half of 1 Samuel and most of 2 Samuel.
Throughout his life story, we see God’s hand upon him,

through his triumphs and disappointments,
through his successes and moral failings,
through favor … and rivalry, jealousy, slander,
through fame … and obscurity,
through faith … and moments of doubt,
through quick victories, … and long years of waiting

Even in his darkest, loneliest moments, …
God did not abandon David.
(eg, Psalm 18)

Through it all, … and in spite of human weakness,
God was working out His plain by His unseen hand.

Hence, in Psalm 23, David wrote ….
whether along quiet waters and green pastures,
or in darkest valleys,  with enemies,
the Lord shepherds us,
Your goodness and love will follow me

And like David,
we are assured the Lord’s hand is guiding us in right paths,
bringing honor  to His name.

3   he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake. (NIV)

   He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
    for his name’s sake. (ESV)

3 He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
    bringing honor to his name. (NLT)

At each fork in the road,
He guides me along right paths,
    bringing honor to his name

and through each change, transition,
by His grace
he refreshes my soul … he restores my soul … he renews my strength

You anoint my head with oil

On the day when David’s head was anointed with oil,

Then Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the midst of his brothers;
and the Spirit of the Lord came upon David from that day forward.
1 Samuel 16:13 (NKJV)

Amen, the Holy Spirit, …
He abides with you and will be in you
(John 14:17 NASB)

the Spirit of the Lord came upon David
The Holy Spirit touched David’s life, empowerd him,
and he was no longer the same.

Indeed we are not left alone to face our challenges,
He empowers us with the Holy Spirit.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.

Even in the midst of our enemies,
the Lord, our faithful Shepherd is ever-present,
we’re never alone.

Hebrews 13:5,6 (NLT)
5 … For God has said,

I will never fail you.
    I will never abandon you.

So we can say with confidence,

The Lord is my helper,
    so I will have no fear.
    What can mere people do to me?”

Therefore,

23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess,
for he who promised is faithful.

24 And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds,
25 not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing,
but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

35 So do not throw away your confidence;
it will be richly rewarded.

36 You need to persevere
so that when you have done the will of God,
you will receive what he has promised.
Hebrews 10:23,24,35,36 (NIV)

Deuteronomy 31:8 (NASB)
The Lord is the one who goes ahead of you;
He will be with you.
He will not fail you or forsake you.
Do not fear or be dismayed.

Hebrews 13:5,6 (NASB)
… for He Himself has said,
“I will never desert you,
nor will I ever forsake you
,”

so that we confidently say,

The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid.
What will man do to me?”


Here’s one pastor’s story, living life to the fullest,
“I rather be disabled than disgruntled”


Do not be anxious about anything,
but in every situation,
by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving,
present your requests to God.

And the peace of God,
which transcends all understanding,
will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6,7 (NIV)

Prayer with thanksgiving to God, … silences our anxious thoughts, … with His peace in our hearts and minds.


I won’t complain.


 Daily Rice | Encouragement

by 林弟兄, bro Lim
April 2, 2016
laymanointing.wordpress.com

Copyright © 林弟兄 bro Lim, Laymanointing, 2014-2016 – All Rights Reserved
Creative Commons License


 


Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2016 by in Daily Rice and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 14,394 views from 112 countries
Albania Armenia Argentina Australia Austria Bangladesh Barbados Bahamas Bahrain Belgium Belize Bolivia Bosnia & Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Bulgaria Cambodia Canada Chile China Costa Rica Croatia Curacao Cyprus Czech Denmark Ecuador Egypt Estonia Ethiopia European Union Fiji Finland France Georgia Germany Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hungary India Indonesia Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jordan Kenya Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia Malaysia Malawi Malta Mauritius Mexico Mongolia Montenegro Mozambique Myanmar (Burma) Namibia Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Nigeria Norway Papua New Guinea Oman Pakistan Peru Philippines Poland Puerto Rico Qatar Romania Russia Rwanda Saudi Arabia Serbia Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa South Korea Spain Sri Lanka St Vincent & Grenadines Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Tanzania Thailand Tonga Trinidad & Tobago Turkey Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uzbekistan Venezuela Vietnam Zambia Zimbabwe

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

